Ms. Burton is From

I am from my dog, Anthony, walking me to school, to keep me safe.

I am from McMain, back before they had a band OR football.

From Loyola were I felt like a minority

From NOLA, although I was born in Chicago.

 

I am from the smell of a hot comb frying hair in the kitchen.

I am from the smell of chicken and fries frying in the black skillet.

From Fabuloso in the guest bathroom.

I am from fresh baked cakes, 7up, coconut, pound and chocolate.

I am from a yelling mom.

BE QUIET.  SIT DOWN.  Be good.

 

I am from a pecan tree that everyone on the block loved.

I am from the debris of the tree that Hurricane Katrina leveled.

I am from a mass exodus to No. Louisiana

From roughing it in the woods

From running from possums, rabbits, deer, nutria and snakes.

 

I am from Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *