Wednesday

My Digital Life Similes

We are going to create similes that describe our online lives.

First, reflect on the following questions, and to jot down some brief responses in preparation for creating their similes.

ASK yourself:

  • How big a role do digital media (Internet, texting, video games) play in your life (a little, some, a lot)?
  • What are your favorite and least-favorite things to do with digital media?
  • Do you connect with others or create things with digital media?
  • What are the positive and not-so-positive aspects of having digital media in your life?

 

complete one of the following statements in a way that captures and conveys the role of digital media in your life.

  1. My media life is like a _______________, because ____________________________.
  2. My media life is as _______________as a ________________, because ____________.

Sample responses:

  • My media life is like a window onto the world, because it allows me to see all kinds of new things and imagine other possibilities.
  • My media life is like a party where I meet a lot of different people, because it feels loud, out of control, and fun.
  • My media life is as tempting as junk food, because I don’t always know when to say no.

Student Work

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *